Jewish Holidays & Festivals

What's happening at Beth El during the Jewish Holidays throughout the year

Below are the major holidays we will celebrate here at Beth El with links to additional information about services, registrations and all the details you need to enjoy the holidays with the Beth El community.  For the complete list of holiday events and services, please see our List of Upcoming Holiday Events, Festivities and Services

Holiday Service Schedule – DATES and TIMES for Sept/Oct 2017


Rosh Hashana

starts Wednesday 9/20/17 at sunset
ends Friday 9/22/17 at nightfall

 


Yom Kippur

starts Friday 9/29/17 at sunset
ends Saturday 9/30/17 at nightfall


 Sukkot

starts Wednesday 10/4/17 at sunset
ends Wednesday 10/11/17 at nightfall


Shemini Atzeret & Simchat Torah

starts Wednesday 10/11/17 at sunset
ends Friday 10/13/17 at nightfall


Chanukah

starts Tuesday 12/12/17 at sunset
ends Wednesday 12/20/17 at nightfall


Tu B’Shevat

starts Tuesday 1/30/18 at sunset
ends Wednesday 1/31/18 at nightfall


Purim

starts Wednesday 2/28/18 at sunset
ends Thursday 3/1/18 at nightfall


 Passover

starts Friday 3/30/18 at sunset
ends Saturday 4/7/18 at nightfall

 


Lag B’Omer

starts Wednesday 5/2/18 at sunset
ends Thursday 5/3/18 at nightfall


Shavuot

starts Saturday 5/19/18 at sunset
ends Monday 5/21/18 at nightfall

Donate to a Fund

Honor or Remember a Loved One with a Donation!

Recent blog posts

Making Connections with South Hills Jewish Community High School!

At the South Hills Jewish Community High School, we strive to keep our post-B’nai Mitzvah teens connected to their Judaism and to each other!  The program, which is open to all South Hills Jewish teens regardless of affiliation, provides exciting opportunities for new social connections and expanded learning.  This collaborative program is held here at Beth…

Read More
Read more

Food For Thought: Make a Difference in Our Community

In January, a new social action initiative called Food for Thought will be launching.  You might be surprised, as I was, to find out how quickly suburban poverty is growing, even in the South Hills. We are calling our new initiative Food for Thought because our goal is to raise awareness and combat food insecurity here…

Read More
Read more

In Praise of (Judaica Shop) Volunteers—and Customers!

I have volunteered at Bingo, doing almost every position and shift—bless those callers!  I took on High Holiday requests for tickets and then sort of inherited the Book of Remembrance.  I have been a board member, recording secretary, and then financial secretary, preferring to be a worker bee rather than chief honcho. So, without any…

Read More
Read more