Jewish Holidays & Festivals

What's happening at Beth El during the Jewish Holidays throughout the year

Below are the major holidays we will celebrate here at Beth El with links to additional information about services, registrations and all the details you need to enjoy the holidays with the Beth El community.  For the complete list of holiday events and services, please see our List of Upcoming Holiday Events, Festivities and Services

Holiday Service Schedule – DATES and TIMES for Sept/Oct


Passover

starts Friday 4/19/19 at sunset
ends Saturday 4/27/19 at nightfall

 


Lag B’Omer

starts Wednesday 5/22/19 at sunset
ends Thursday 5/23/19 at nightfall


Shavuot

starts Saturday 6/8/19 at sunset
ends Monday 6/10/19 at nightfall


Rosh Hashana

starts Sunday 9/29/19 at sunset
ends Tuesday 10/1/19 at nightfall

 


Yom Kippur

starts Tuesday 10/8/19 at sunset
ends Wednesday 10/9/19 at nightfall


Sukkot

starts Sunday 10/13/19 at sunset
ends Sunday 10/20/19 at nightfall


Shemini Atzeret & Simchat Torah

starts Sunday 10/20/19 at sunset
ends Tuesday 10/22/19 at nightfall

 


 Chanukah

starts Sunday 12/22/19 at sunset
ends Monday 12/30/19 at nightfall


Tu B’Shevat

starts Sunday 2/9/20 at sunset
ends Monday 2/10/20 at nightfall


 Purim

starts Wednesday 3/20/19 at sunset
ends Thursday 3/21/19 at nightfall

Donate to a Fund

Honor or Remember a Loved One with a Donation!

Recent blog posts

Try Composting to Reduce Household Waste

When considering all the things people can do to decrease waste, I’d be remiss if I didn’t discuss composting. It is an age-old method of greatly reducing waste that can all be done from your own home. The potential impact is enormous, as the EPA estimates that food scraps and yard waste together make up…

Read More
Read more

Redefining Trash and Moving Away from the Curb

Redefining trash and moving away from the curb.  That has been the theme at my house as the years have passed and we put less trash and recycling out for collection. Why? The amount of waste humans produce is astonishing and not sustainable. Many communities, my own included, have been aghast at the recent reduction in…

Read More
Read more

On Grief

The following is the text of Rabbi Amy’s 2018 Yom Kippur sermon: A few months ago, I was out for dinner with my book club.  At the end of the meal, along with the check, the waitress gave us a handful of wrapped sesame candies.  One of my friends said with a wistful smile, I…

Read More
Read more